Dill and Bulgor Soup

This was my first attempt ever at making a soup (ok Indian Daals aka Lentils aside).  It was made on the stove top so it was quick enough to make after I came home from work.

I loved this meal because it used fresh ingredients and it was actually fun to make.  I added a few slices of whole wheat baguette on the side.

Chopped Onion, Chives, Cilantro and dry Dill Weed

I’ve been watching a lot of sports with my husband (which also can be interpreted as I don’t mind it when he hogs the remote control :P)  But in all honesty – sports can be a lot of fun to watch.  Especially when the city-you-live-in’s team some how makes it to the play offs!  The one thing that irks me about sports is how these grown men/athletes play to the point where they may end up injuring themselves!   But I do find it inspiring how they can come back to their game so quickly.  I did some quick research on the idea and found some interesting pointers:

1. Maintain a healthy balanced diet: with your regular workout weeks or months away you have to be more careful of what you put into your body, that said…

2. Eat anti-inflammatory foods: something I would never think of but makes total sense! flax seeds, omega-3, turmeric all are good options

3. Keep up with cardio and exercising the non injured area: I’m sure professional athletes have a large support system and team of trainers but still worth while to note

4. Get rest: ie sleep enough so the body can do its thing

5. Stay focused mentally: I would think not working and having a six figure contract hanging over your head would be hard to handle so it makes keep your mind active and engaged.  Also it helps to keep your mind off feeling sorry for yourself

Cooking in the heat


Bulgar Wheat (uncooked)

Red Lentils being inspected by the Hubz

Toss both into the sauté

In goes the water and vegetable broth

Add white chickpeas and spinach, and let simmer…

And voila!

3 thoughts on “Dill and Bulgor Soup

  1. Pingback: You lift my heart up when the rest of me is down | Thru Les Yeux

Leave a Reply

